Review – Vicious (Sinners of Saint #1) by L.J. Shen

Vicious (Sinners of Saint #1) by L.J. Shen

“Because moments like these reminded me that my life was hard, but not bad. There was a difference between the two. A hard life equaled a life full of obstacles and challenging moments but also full of people you loved and cared about. A bad life equaled an empty life. One that wasn’t necessarily hard or challenging but was devoid of the people you loved and cared about.” – Emilia

  • Contemporary Romance
  • Suit/CEO
  • First In A Series
  • Heat Level 2

Vicious is a different kind of book. It’s not always easy to follow or read, but it is totally worth it. I found myself rather lost and confused in the very first chapter. I even stopped reading and checked to see if I missed a novella before this first book that would give me some clarity. Nope, the mystery is purposeful, and the author uses this technique a few times throughout the book. You just have to keep reading to unravel the mystery and put all the pieces together. I loved this book!

Emilia aka Millie is an extremely lovable character. She is humble, strong and caring. She makes sacrifice after sacrifice for the ones she loves and never complains or dims her shine. I loved her character and wished we could be best friends. Shen does a great job of making her personality shine through, even though the story jumps between current day and 10 years before. The consistency is refreshing.

“There was a heavily made-up Goth girl leaning against a barstool. She looked at us like most people did. Like Emilia had kidnapped me or like I was her sensible brother. We were so different it was borderline comical. Me with my custom suit, expensive coat, and rich asshole air about me and her with her burgundy-wine sweater, beanie, Christmas leggings, and army boots.” – Vicious

Baron “Vicious” Spencer earned his nickname in high school with good reason. I found his character to be crude and downright mean. There were many times while reading that I just couldn’t believe the things he said! I kept thinking, “what an asshole!” and “there can’t possibly be anything redeemable about his character.” He was so vicious at points that I couldn’t believe I was still reading. He was flawed, spoiled and entitled. But I couldn’t help being pulled in by him and Emilia. By the end, I was cheering for him to turn all of his angry and negativity into a beautiful and compassionate person. I’ll let you decide if he made it there. 😉

I quirked an eyebrow at him and leaned back. “Your IT people are doing a terrible job. I’ve been watching snuff all morning.”

He laughed, and his amusement looked genuine. Rare and brief like cherry blossoms in the spring. But just like the flowers, it died quickly.

“I didn’t peg you for a kink girl, Emilia.” He tucked his hands in his pockets. “Whatever floats your boat, I’d be happy to be captain.”

This book wove an almost murder/mystery type tale with plenty of twists to keep me reading. I wanted to put my life things aside just so I could jump back into Vicious and Emilia’s lives. The supporting cast of characters pulled me into their lives as well, and I’m looking forward to reading their books in the series. I think what I loved the most is that it wasn’t your typical romance book. There were dark themes and secret plotlines happening throughout. I will absolutely be reading the rest of this series, and probably everything else L.J. Shen has written. Don’t let Vicious scare you off, he might be more bark than bite… or not.

My Rating –

rating5

rebeccamerged

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30839185-vicious

Grab yourself a copy: Amazon 99 cents (at time of post)

Leave a Reply

