Review – Jail House Rock by Liberty Laine

Jail House Rock by Liberty Laine

“I get the strangest feeling that maybe Millie knows she is a little crazy and has absolutely no fucks to give about it. And that thought only makes me like her more.” – Jake Blackwood

  • Contemporary Romance
  • Bounty Hunter/Aspiring Popstar
  • Novella
  • Heat Level 3

Jail House Rock was a short, over-the-top novella about bounty hunter Jake Blackwood and aspiring popstar Millie Coletrain. The blurb warns that this book is “laught out loud ridiculousness, insta-love” and it definitely was. The novella starts with us meeting Millie right before she is about to perform at the local bar. She is quirky, witty and crazy. Just before she is about to take the stage to entertain her 10’s of fans, Jake Blackwoood, a new local bounty hunter, shows up and cuffs her.

“I need a shower and something to sleep in. You got any spare shirts lying around? Or have you Hulk-ripped them all apart in fits of rage whenever criminal masterminds slip away into the night?” -Millie Coletrain

Jake and Mille ended up in the fastest insta-love relationship I have ever read. I’m honestly not against books that have insta-love stories. I believe in love at first sight and believe you can recognize the other half of your soul in a short period of time. When it’s right, it’s right. This was a little more than that, it was pretty much ridiculous. I feel like a lot of people might say that I was fairly warned, so my review and rating shouldn’t reflect my feelings on the speed that their relationship developed. Maybe that’s true, but it still affected my overall feelings on the novella.

Jail House Rock was a quick, funny, escape from reality novella. There were some really good things about it. I highlighted quite a few passages throughout it because of their cleverness. I would recommend it if you are looking for this kind of read in between some heavier titles. I will give this author duo another shot.

“No, Jake Blackwood. Never Christina. Never! It’s Britney, bitch,” – Millie Coletrain. Millie, I completely agree. It’s ALWAYS Britney, bitch. 

My Rating –

rating3

rebeccamerged

I was provided a copy of this novella in exchange for an honest review.

2 thoughts on “Review – Jail House Rock by Liberty Laine

Leave a Reply

